gray line

News & Publications

blue line
News & Publications >> Press & Media >> Thirty-four Allen Matkins partners named to 2018 The Best Lawyers in America®; Armstrong, Bishop, Chine, Hoy and Nichols named 'Lawyers of the Year'

Thirty-four Allen Matkins partners named to 2018 The Best Lawyers in America®; Armstrong, Bishop, Chine, Hoy and Nichols named 'Lawyers of the Year'; firm receives National Tier 1 Rankings

LOS ANGELES – August 15, 2017 – The Best Lawyers in America® has released its 2018 rankings and Allen Matkins once again received high marks. This year's list includes 34 Allen Matkins partners, five of which were named "Lawyer of the Year" in their respective regions and practices: Dwight Armstrong (Labor Law in Orange County), Keith Bishop (Securities/Capital Management Law in Orange County), Jeffrey Chine (Real Estate Law in San Diego), Valentine Hoy (Construction Litigation in San Diego) and Sandi Nichols (Environmental Litigation in San Francisco).

In addition to the individual acknowledgements, Allen Matkins received National Tier 1 Rankings in Best Lawyers' “Best Law Firms" for Litigation-Construction, Litigation-Tax and Real Estate Law. For the Metropolitan Tier 1 Rankings, the firm was selected in Los Angeles for Litigation-Construction, Litigation-Tax, Real Estate Law and Tax Law; in Orange County for Corporate Governance Law, Employment Law-Management, Labor Law-Management, Litigation-Labor & Employment, Real Estate Law and Securities/Capital Markets Law; in San Diego for Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Land Use & Zoning Law, Litigation-Bankruptcy, Litigation-Construction, Litigation-Labor & Employment, Litigation-Real Estate and Real Estate Law; and in San Francisco for Litigation-Environmental and Real Estate Law.

Partners selected from the Century City office include Tony Natsis and John Tipton; from the Los Angeles office, Frederick AllenJohn Allen, Mike Cathcart, Thomas Henning, Richard MalloryMichael Matkins, O'Malley Miller, Pauline Stevens and Fernando Villa; from the Orange County office, Pamela Andes, Armstrong, Bishop, Kenneth CurtisDrew EmmelGary McKitterickRichard Stinehart and Stephen Thames; from the San Diego office, Chine, Ted Fates, Hoy, David Osias, Jeffrey PattersonMichael Pruter, Debra Riley and Amy Wintersheimer Findley; and from the San Francisco office, David CookeBarry EpsteinBruce HymanBaldwin LeeNancy LundeenJames Meeder and Nichols.

Best Lawyers lists are compiled by conducting exhaustive peer-review surveys in which tens of thousands of leading lawyers confidentially evaluate their professional peers. If the votes for an attorney are positive enough for inclusion in Best Lawyers, that attorney must maintain those votes in subsequent polls to remain on the list for each edition. Lawyers are not permitted to pay any fee to participate in or be included on our lists.

"Lawyer of the Year" recognitions are also awarded to individual attorneys with the highest overall peer-feedback for a specific Practice Area and geographic location. Only one lawyer is recognized as the "Lawyer of the Year" for each specialty and location.