gray line

News & Publications

blue line
News & Publications >> Press & Media >> Thirty-two Allen Matkins partners named to 2019 The Best Lawyers in America®; Dwight Armstrong and Valentine Hoy named 'Lawyers of the Year'

Thirty-two Allen Matkins partners named to 2019 The Best Lawyers in America®; Dwight Armstrong and Valentine Hoy named 'Lawyers of the Year'; firm receives National Tier 1 Rankings

The Best Lawyers in America® has released its 2019 rankings and Allen Matkins once again received high marks. This year's list includes 32 Allen Matkins partners, two of whom were named "Lawyer of the Year" in their respective regions and practices: Dwight Armstrong (Employment Law in Orange County) and Valentine Hoy (Real Estate Litigation in San Diego).

In addition to the individual acknowledgements, Allen Matkins received National Tier 1 Rankings in Best Lawyers'  “Best Law Firms" for Environmental Law, Land use & Zoning Law, and Real Estate Law. For the Metropolitan Tier 1 Rankings, the firm was selected in Los Angeles for Real Estate Law and Tax Law; in Orange County for Corporate Governance Law, Employment Law-Management, Labor Law-Management, Litigation-Labor & Employment, Real Estate Law, and Securities/Capital Markets Law; in San Diego for Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Land Use & Zoning Law, Litigation-Bankruptcy, Litigation-Construction, Litigation-Real Estate and Real Estate Law; and in San Francisco for Environmental Law, Litigation-Environmental, and Real Estate Law.

Individually, partners selected from the Century City office include Tony Natsis and John Tipton; from the Los Angeles office, John Allen, Neil Gluck, Thomas Henning, Richard Mallory, Michael Matkins, O'Malley Miller, Pauline StevensFernando Villa, and Marc Young; from the Orange County office, Pamela Andes, Dwight Armstrong, Keith Bishop, Drew Emmel, Gary McKitterick, and Richard Stinehart; from the San Diego office, Jeffrey Chine, Ted Fates, Valentine Hoy, David Osias, Jeffrey Patterson, Michael Pruter, Debra Riley, and Amy Wintersheimer; and from the San Francisco office, David Cooke, Barry Epstein, Bruce Hyman, Baldwin Lee, Nancy Lundeen, James Meeder, and Sandi Nichols.

Best Lawyers lists are compiled by conducting exhaustive peer-review surveys in which tens of thousands of leading lawyers confidentially evaluate their professional peers. If the votes for an attorney are positive enough for inclusion in Best Lawyers, that attorney must maintain those votes in subsequent polls to remain on the list for each edition. Lawyers are not permitted to pay any fee to participate in or be included on our lists.

"Lawyer of the Year" recognitions are also awarded to individual attorneys with the highest overall peer-feedback for a specific Practice Area and geographic location. Only one lawyer is recognized as the "Lawyer of the Year" for each specialty and location.